Trekking in Nepal

Royal Orchid Treks & Expedition (P) Ltd.

891, Arubari, Boudha, Kathmandu, NEPAL
English Japanese

Browse Trip By

  Please Wait...

Browse Pacakge

Travel News

About Nepal

Geography: Landlocked country, Located between China in the north and India in other  three directions.
Location: Latitude 26 Degree 2' to 30 Degree 27' North, longitude 80 Degree 40' to 88  Degree 12' East
Area: 147,181 Sq. km.
Capital City: Kathmandu
Population:  25.8 Million
Currency: Nepalese Rupee

Short History:
Nepal had been ruled by Shah King, which was His Majesty's Government of Nepal until 2008. After several weeks' big protest of all political parties against monarchy, now it has officially become the Federal Democratic Republic of  Nepal from July 2008.

Physiographic Area
: Nepal has been divided into three physiographic areas.  They are  Mountain region, Hill region and Terai region (Plain area).

Nepal Contains eight  of  top 14 highest mountains of world, which are :-  Mt. Everest (8,848 m), Mt. Kanchenjunga (8,586 m), Mt. Lhotse( 8,516 m), Mt. Makalu (8,481 m), Mt. Cho - Oyu (8,201 m) ,  Mt. Dhaulagiri (8167 m), Mt. Manaslu ( 8,163 m) and Mt. Annapurna (8,091 m).

Nepal is multi religious-country. The majority of the population in Hindu religion then Buddhism religion stands as second position. Here some of people who are Islam, Muslims, Christianity and few others.

 As Nepal has more than 101 ethnic groups, it has so many spoken mother languages as well as different cultures. In spite of having own language of each ethnic group, the official national language is Nepalese and people also speak Indian & English as a business language. Newar, Chhetri, Bahun, Gurung, Tamang, Sherpa, Rai, Limbu, Maithali , are some of the ethnic groups of Nepal, which have their own customs and religion but they also respect the custom and religion of others’ in the society.

The Main food of Nepal is Dal ,Vat and Tarkari, Dal stands for Lentil soup and Tarkari for vegetables. Non vegetarian people also preferred meat with the rice.
Nepal has different calendar which starts on mid April and lasts for 12 months but it also follows the English calendar.

 Nepal has mainly four major seasons ,which are: Winter, Spring, Summer and Autumn. Winter falls on December to February,  Spring is on March to May. Like wise  June to August and September  to November is the period of  Summer and Autumn respectively.